AdventureCORPS®, Inc. hosts BADWATER® Salton Sea annually in late April. This remarkable event challenges up to 40 teams of two or three ultrarunners – running together as duos or trios for the duration, NOT in a relay – to tackle an unimaginable traverse of Southern California deserts and mountains. The route covers 81 miles (130km) non-stop from below sea level at the shoreline of the Salton Sea, across and over Anza-Borrego Desert State Park on a rugged mountain single-track trail, and then past Ranchita (and its resident Yeti, “Rancheti”) and Lake Henshaw and up East Grade to the top of Palomar Mountain with a dramatic view of the Pacific Ocean. This webcast features the sixth edition, held April 29-30, 2018.

Links: Race Roster | Race Results | Race Magazine | Race Home

Race Director Images | Race Staff Images


CLICK: Start Line Visit, Racer Mugshots, Teams pose with Crews, and Pre-Race Meeting, by Ian Parker

CLICK: Race Day: Salton Sea Start Line to approaching Borrego Springs, by Marco Apostol

CLICK: Race Day: Salton Sea Start Line to Borrego Springs (Mi 35), by Ian Parker

CLICK: Race Day: Salton Sea Start Line to Borrego Springs (Mi 35), by Chris Kostman

CLICK: Race Day: Borrego Springs (Mi 35) to Hellhole Canyon (Mi 40) and up the Trail to Ranchita (Mi 50), by Ian Parker

CLICK: Race Day: Up Palomar Mountain on Monday Morning, by Ian Parker

CLICK: Race Day: Finish Line atop Palomar Mountain, by Chris Kostman

CLICK: Pre-Race to Post-Race: The whole enchilada, via Race Director Chris Kostman’s iPhone (photos and videos, about half of which appeared on @Badwater or @ChrisKostman Instagram)

Live Tracking of the racers provided by

Special thanks to the Race Volunteers!

Ryan Crane: Time Station 1 (Mile 14.4, Microwave Tower) and Time Station 4 (Mile 50.2, Ranchita)

Dave and Margaret Nelson: Time Station 2 (Mile 35.2, Borrego Springs Resort)

Paul Tourkin: Roving Official, Time Station 4 (Mile 50.2, Ranchita), and Finish Line

Marcus Edvalson: Roving Official, Social Media, and Finish Line

Regina Peters and Desi Klaar: Start Line, Time Station 3 (Mile 40.5 Lower Trailhead), and Trail Sweep

Eric Meech: Trail Marking, Time Station 3 (Mile 40.5 Lower Trailhead), Medical, and Roving

Marco Apostol: Medical, Roving Official, and Finish Line

Dr. Kent Wang: Medical Support

Jeric Wilhelmsen: Videography

Ian Parker: Photography

Mark Olson: Finish Line

Lori Hoechlin: Post-Race Brunch

Telma Altoon: Start Line, Roving, and Post-Race Brunch

Chris Kostman, Race Director, Roving Official, Photography, Webcast, and Finish Line